The Origin of Species. I mean the Name.

October 5, 2005 at 10:44 AM | Posted in Personal | 2 Comments
I have been using Oldestgenxer for a while, kind of a third
name, because I have a second name on the internet that I use,
but I like this one better.  But it comes from the fact that I
was born in early (february) of 1965, which is the first year
of the generation "x."  1964 and before is the baby boomer
generation, and before that, I forget what they are called.
The one after gen x is either gen next, or gen y, or whatever. 
Not sure.  All I know is, never trust anyone born in the 80’s.
I tell my son that, who was born in 88.  He still doesnt think
it’s funny.
But the term generation x comes from a song by Billy Idol, who
in the early 70’s was in a punk band, I think it was called
generation x, and they had a song ripping on the Who’s "Talkin
bout my generation," called "Talkin bout YOUR generation."  I
find it ironic that Billy Idol himself is not a gen-xer, but a
boomer, and now, like Pete Townsend, he is old.
Although I am an x-er, I am a boomer by marriage.
I took the name when I was trying to hang out with a younger
crowd, and thought I was out touch, but realized they were just
the younger gen-xers, people now in their 30’s.  I dont know
what the cutoff is for the start of gen y.  Don’t care, kinda. 
BUt I am glad that, once again, I was able to pick a name that
I didnt have to put stupid odd characters in, or use numbers
in.  I came up with a unique enough name that no one else
thought of it.  I am special.
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. your son doesn\’t think it is funny because he inherited his mother\’s sense of humor, which is none.

  2.  
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generation_X
     
    you are partially incorrect, lol
    not that it matters to me, I like the name you use
    btw, I\’m having a good time here in the archives, catching up on ALL BRYAN, ALL THE TIME (my fantasy, lol)
    gotta go…. more to read
    naked hugs and "special rewards" if you\’re lucky
     


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

