Give Me A Moment

November 11, 2005 at 9:26 AM | Posted in Personal | 1 Comment
I dont often get serious.  In fact, I try like hell to avoid it.  I am a hopeless optimist.  Despite all evidence to the contrary, and despite my own believe that the world is going to hell in a handbasket, I believe more or less in the goodness of all mankind. 
More or less.
There was a local story in the news recently, where there was a house fire in East St Louis.  A one year old baby girl died.  There were seven other people in the house, including 2 other kids, that all got out.  Apparantly, I just heard, a babysitter suffered burns trying to save the baby.  What other people were in there?  What other adults?  I swear I can’t fucking believe it.  I am a forty year old man, I don’t live near there.  But still, I tear up a bit when I hear the story, and since I have been listening to talk radio, I heard the story every fucking half hour.  Every time I hear it.  Baby dies.  Other people in the house.  Baby dies.  Other people in the house.  I’m sure they feel horrible.. . . And I don’t want to judge, because I don’t really know the circumstances.  However–
I tell you now, that, God forbid, anything like that happens to my family, the story will say "Man dies trying to save children."  End of discussion.  I will do it or I will die trying.  There is no other way.  
My wife says she had dreams, when she was younger, when she had her first two kids.  The dream is this:  Both children are drowning, or both are in a fire, or both are in some type of life-threatening danger.  You only have one shot, so you can save only one.
Who do you save?
I’m not sure I can go on with this.  It’s hard.  Faced with it, I’ll deal with it.  I hope I never do.  Until then, this is all theoretical.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I don\’t think you\’re as big optimist as "Candide", that means you\’re still sane. You would do the right thing saving children. I would do the same. And about those dreams… water is never a good omen. The last time I dreamed of water I woke up in the renimation barely alive ( not to freak out :P)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

