Much Ado Unto Nothing At All

May 16, 2006 at 8:33 AM | Posted in Personal | 7 Comments
I kinda feel like I should post today, and yet I feel ambivalent towards the process.  I have lots of things going on; perhaps that is why I feel the need.  However, these things are best documented when they are completed.  Perhaps I have a sense of anticipation, no?  And so, as these events unfold, after the fact I may have a better perspective.
I’ve been reading other blogs, trying to get to know some people.  I’ve been teary-eyed and crying, learning of the hardship others endure.  I’ve been driven to exhaustion, and the end of my rope, over my own trials.  I feel, and have felt, like I was alone, lying in the dust in the middle of the road, on the outskirts of town, where there is no traffic, and no bus is expected soon.
I feel such a sense of relief to be done with school, and sadness that it is over.  I enjoyed it:  the comradery, the academic environment, the process, and the feeling of being a part, and being in touch.  And the many friendships I have had, in classes past, that reoccurred now and again, that are now over for good, I suppose.
I remember when I left Domino’s for the last time, the people I left behind.  And at Steak n Shake, too.  I was a manager there, and had many good employees, some friends.  But I had to go.  Had to.  We in management kept a diary, that we used as a communications log between managers, because many times we wouldn’t see each other.  On my last day–last night actually–I left with no fanfare, saw no one, did not say goodbye.  But I left a note in the diary.  It’s a line from a Billy Joel song.  After all the new music I’ve gotten into, he is still one of my favorites.  I get a little sentimental about him.  Anyway, thusly I wrote:
 
So many faces in and out of my life
Some will last, some will just be now and then
Life is a series of hellos and goodbyes
I’m afraid it’s time for goodbye again
 
Perhaps that explains my melancholy………..
7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I feel the same way right now… and that leaves me mute. so maybe later I will be back to comment.
    bye

  2. ((((((hug)))))
     
    better? need more?
     
    a little nibble? a little groping behind the bleachers?
     
    got it
    hugs and more hugs and all the special stuff
    Kim

  3. one of your best works here bryan.
     
                              the dude.

  4. Hi there,
    Male my ass… But thanks, you do make me feel better. I’ll explain latter 😛
    And why don’t you start studying again. That’s what I do when I’m bored 😛 😀
     
    A hug, definitely.
     
    A.

  5. People are wonderful in that even the smallest and brief encounters can make us feel something and sometimes have a different perspective. No one is ever gone in this way, we carry those we meet in the heart and mind, and they make us better in some ways through that. And though relstionships change it is always good to find addresses or phone numbers to keep in touch with the favorites – but sometimes things and friendships are for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. Either way they are held in memory and caring – I hope this brings some peace. Best to you – patti

  6. Hello dear,
    Don\’t be sad…I can\’t think of a reason why not… but well just don\’t.
    Have a great day!
    Candy

  7. How did you know how much I love ado\’s about nothings? *smiles
     
    It\’ll pass.. the humdrums always do.. cuz life gets in their way and new things will come about.. neverending adventures right?
     
    If you really, and I mean REALLY need the lil furry ball o\’sunshine back.. I\’ll share it with you 🙂 
     
    Hugsss,
    ~S4ssy


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

