How to Live

June 27, 2006 at 8:03 AM | Posted in Personal | 6 Comments
Fine, fine.  Okay.  I can take a hint.  Don’t have to tell me several times. 
Okay, maybe you do.  Whatever.  The point is, I want to write about what I am going through.  I don’t want to scare people away, or worse–bore them.
But there are other things going on in my life, and other things I think about, and other things that interest me.  I feel the need for myself as well, to get away from this topic.  I will come back to it when something happens, though–I have to.  You understand that, right?
Mostly I like to write about myself or my interests.  I like to use my own, original material.  Very seldom do I find something on the internet that has been passed around like a cheerleader at the prom that holds promise, that holds . .. ..spirit.  That has meaning.
But I found this.  I’ve actually had this for a while.  I’m going to print it up and put it on my cube wall as well.  I just want to make the world a better place, for purely selfish reasons.  I want to be happy.  So here then are a few rules to live by, a credo, if you will:
 
HOW TO LIVE: 
ONE. Give people more than they expect and do it cheerfully.
TWO. Marry a man/woman you love to talk to. As you get older, their conversational skills will be as important as any other.
THREE. Don’t believe all you hear, spend all you have or sleep all you want.
FOUR. When you say, "I love you," mean it.
FIVE. When you say, "I ‘m sorry," look the person in the eye.
SIX. Be engaged at least six months before you get married.
SEVEN. Believe in love at first sight.
EIGHT. Never laugh at anyone’s dream. People who don’t have dreams don’t have much.
NINE. Love deeply and passionately. You might get hurt but it’s the only way to live life completely.
TEN.. In disagreements, fight fairly. No name calling.
ELEVEN. Don’t judge people by their relatives.
TWELVE. Talk slowly but think quickly.
THIRTEEN. When someone asks you a question you don’t want to answer, smile and ask, "Why do you want to know?"
FOURTEEN. Remember that great love and great achievements involve great risk.
FIFTEEN. Say "bless you" when you hear someone sneeze.
SIXTEEN. When you lose, don’t lose the lesson.
SEVENTEEN. Remember the 3 R’s:
  Respect for self;  
  Respect for others; and  
  Responsibility for all your actions.
EIGHTEEN. Don’t let a little dispute injure a great friendship.
NINETEEN. When you realize you’ve made a mistake, take immediate steps to correct it.
TWENTY. Smile when picking up the phone! . The caller will hear it in your voice.
TWENTY-ONE. Spend some time alone.
 
6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I\’m glad I skipped to the "B" sides post before commenting on this one because the first thing that popped into my head was that this was beautiful..wonderful..but I couldn\’t help but wonder how much of this could you really relate to right this now.. (your marriage)  anyhoo, I left you a book\’ish comment on the next post.
     
    Hugssssss,
    ~S4ssy

  2. How much of this do I relate to?  Hmmm.  Well, right now its:
    1,2,3,4,5,7,8,9,10,12, with a caveat, 13,14 with all my heart, 15,16,17,18,19,20, and 21 now more than ever.
    I guess I do believe in them,and I can relate to most of them.  They make sense.  They should work for most people, most of the time.  they dont have to be right for everyone, all of the time.  Do they?
    And thank YOU, for understanding.  I guess that\’s all I want, is understanding.  If I could add one to the list, it would be listen and try to understand people. 
    You\’re a sweetheart.  thanks.

  3. Just had to come back n re-read what #\’s went with what on what you wrote.. damn whatta shitty sentence..and I thought I could write!
     
    Yes, I KNOW we\’re outta toilet paper damnit!  That\’s why the roll of bargain cheap scratchy papertowels are sittin there 😛
    VCR isn\’t hooked up..hasn\’t been in years.. so I bet u had fun with that!
    Clock not clocks.. and it\’s never right anyways..I always have it set a bit fast.. and most of the time it\’s off cuz I roll over the cord all the time and pull it outta the plug.  The clock on the puter works just fine.
    And.. you better not have eaten all that fine potroast in the fridge..we need the rest for sandwiches tomorrow!
     
    nyah nyah
    Hugs and a pinch,
    ~S4ssy
     

  4. I\’ve always loved this. I have it saved too. I make sure that my children know about number 2, and 4, which are so important, and even more so, is that you actually LIKE the person you are with. That first big lust comes and goes, but if you truly like the person, respect them and want to be with them, then you have something special.
    I like your idea, in fact it gives me something to blog about. I had thought about it before but forgot. Thanks for the reminder!
    How you doing? I\’m over here flashin ya! lol BIG HUGS, and gropes, Steph

  5. I really like those!  Mind if I copy it and send it to my stepkids?   Although, now that I re-read them, I think I should delete #13 out of the list first!  I sure don\’t need to give them any other way to dodge questions! 😉 
     
    See ya!
    Mindy

  6. smile – love – mean it.
    I can dig it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

