Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves

August 18, 2007 at 11:05 AM | Posted in Journal | 1 Comment
 
  Like a homeless wandering psychopath, I have lived in four or five different places in the last year, as has Detroit.  For me, it was –My old house, then my dad’s, then the apartment, then my dad’s again, and now finally. . .
  A place to call home.
  For Detroit, it was her old home, the apartment, my dad’s, and now our home.
  This tiny little house, this quaint fixer-upper, this cuter starter home–This is our home.  Oh, don’t worry.  Things aren’t perfect yet.  If anything, this is a bone we’ve been thrown to temporarily appease us.  We still have all of our other problems.  Plus, a few new ones, like having to pay child support and being behind on the loan for this house.
  But still, at least we have a place to call our own.  For now.  I’ll never move again?  I ain’t saying that shit anymore.  Never again.  Maybe "I’ll never move again. . . this year."
  I hope I can live up to that.
  About the house:
  It’s tiny.  Small.  A wee thing.  A charming three-bedroom ranch, on a slab–no basement.  950 square feet, roughly.  Except for the yard, it would be an apartment.
  The yard is nice, and fairly large, as far as a yard in a subdivision goes.  No garage, or even a carport, just a driveway.  But there are plans, man.  There are plans.  The front I did alot of landscaping to, when I lived here before.  I wish I had some before and after pictures, cause man, it looks nice now.
  In the back, I made a patio.  A big one, it’s about 20 feet by 20 feet.  I think.  There is also the shed I built, and the swingset/playground I built.
  Inside, the kitchen is fairly large.  And recently remodeled.  Detroit loves it.  It has lots of counter space, lots of cabinets, lots of room.  I did the work.
  The living room and hallway have the pergo-type floor, it’s in decent shape.  Not perfect.  Hell, my rentor had 5 kids; I’m surprised the house still stands.  Two walls in the living room are stone.  Real stone, set in mortar.  I guess one of the previous owners was a . . .mortician?  Is that what they do?  The bedrooms are smaller than I remember.  But I had a king size bed in the bedroom before, so I imagine this queen will go.
  And there are two bathrooms. Or, one and a half.  The "master bedroom" has it’s own "master bath": a half bath attached.  It’s nice to be able to get up in the middle of the night and pee without getting dressed.  I really don’t know how people did it in the days of outhouses.
  And that was the tour, I hope you liked it.  It’s good to have a place to call home.  I was not that excited about it–still a little bitter about not getting my dad’s house.  All the space, all the garage–
  But this is mine.  And there’s no doubt that it’s mine.  Barring, of course, the back taxes that I owe, and the ability to refinance it, otherwise I default and have to sell it.  Other than that, though, yeah:  Totally mine.
  And totally Detroit’s.  The pure joy and happiness in her eyes when the house was approved for occupancy just filled my heart with happiness.  We can move in.
  And before I left for work, she . …expressed her appreciation.  Being a man, I can say that it’s the kind of thing that made it all worthwhile.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It sounds like a cozy cottage 🙂
    You did a lot of work in the house in the past and you
    can still enjoy the fruits of your labor.
    I hope you are all very happy there 


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

