Physical Graffitti

September 17, 2007 at 11:47 AM | Posted in Journal | 2 Comments
  The title I wanted to go with was "Sick Again," but I may have used it already.  And I wanted you to get the reference to Led Zeppelin, because it’s the last song (I believe) on the album Physical Graffiti.
  Which is the greatest album of all time ever made.  If you disagree, it’s because you haven’t heard it or you like rap.  In any event, you’re wrong and I’m right.

  And Physical Graffiti may be more oddly appropriate because yeah, I am sick again.
  It’s pissing me off, alot.  I used to be impervious, I rarely got sick.  Even the allergy thing, I’d get it, blow snot for awhile, and be done.  It seems like ever since I started working at the bank, in an office environment, I get sick about twice a year, like clock work.  Except maybe more like a calendar.
  Now, back in the spring of–what is this, 07?–so the spring of 06, I got a bad sinus infection while my son got pneumonia.  That’s where my thought process came from.  Because last fall I got pneumonia.   This spring I got an infection again.  And here I am again with freakin bronchitis.  Fucking lungs.
  I missed work on Friday because, never mind going to work, I just couldn’t envision getting up and shaving.  Saturday I slept all day, then went in to the restaurant. Luckily, we were slow.  I petered out after about three and half hours, and had everyone else do the work.
  Sunday I woke up fine.  I thought, "Oh, I must be getting better–"
  By 1230, I needed a nap and a handful of drugs, and not in that order.  I took three advil–because I’m a sissy for pain, a mucinex, two couch suppressants because the mucinex works too good, and a benedryl so I could stay asleep once I fell asleep.  I would really liked to have had a tylenol with codeine. . . .
  But I need one even more now.  I pulled a goddamn muscle in my chest or my stomach or my spleen–or whatever the hell it is–from coughing.  It hurts like a bitch to cough, and I have to cough to get the stuff out.
  You want to torture the terrorist?  Bring them to the Midwest to "enjoy" the weather and the allergies.

  So I drive Detroit to work this morning so I can have the truck (Being down to one vehicle  is as fun as I remember it being when I was young.  Everything we do is like when I was 20:  No kids, cars barely run, no money. . . ) and then I go to the doctor.  I see Robin, the tall blond chick.  I mean doctor.  She listened to my sad, pathetic story, then used her stethoscope to listen to my sad, pathetic lungs, all the while nodding understandingly.
  Finally, her diagnosis:  "Wow, dude, you’re really fucked."
  Well, that wasn’t her exact phrasing. 
  She gave me a script for a z-pak, and prednisone.  Gave me some samples of allegra, and a sample of a nasal spray.  "Before we try any hardcore shit, let’s give this a try."  Again, paraphrasing.  But that is the gist of it.
  I have bad allergies in the spring and in the fall.  I need to treat those symptoms as early as I can, before it turns bad.  Like start taking something in the middle of August before the Fall atrocities begin, and probably late February, early March before the Spring Cavalcade of horrors steps in. 
  Otherwise, they’ll have to operate.  Remove my sinuses?  "Yes, and the best way to do that is to remove the entire head.  Solves alot of other problems, too."

  I’ve been having alot of bizarre dreams and hallucinations lately.  Have I told you that?

Addendum:  Feeling alot better, it’s night time, about to crash for the evening.  Just wanted to add a thought for all of you so willing to hop on the "everybody deserves healthcare" bandwagon.  I called my doctor this morning, and I got in this morning.  And I pay for that service.  If I don’t want to pay, I can hop a bus down to the clinic and wait around for several hours.  When my ex was pregnant with our son, that’s what we did.  (Well, we didn’t hop a bus.  I had a car.)  We would arrive at the clinic at 8 am and generally be seen about 3pm, but it was almost always the same day.  But that is where you go when you are poor and can’t afford it.  That is fucking life.
The statistics you hear about people who don’t have health insurance are mostly bullshit.  Most of the people who don’t have it actually have the option to get it, but opt out because they are young and healthy.  Admittedly, some people legitimately don’t have it or can’t afford it.  My ex is now one of them, but my kids are covered.  But as it stands now, everyone has access to the emergency room and clinics, even illegal aliens.  The poor in this country are better off than all but the richest in the rest of the world.  Sadly, the normal state of affairs for humanity throughout history is poverty. 
But for God’s sake, you can’t save the world for everyone.  Most people in other countries that have socialized medicine acknowledge that we have a better system.  Perfect?  No.  But nothing is.  You can vote yourselves bread and circuses–and that’s how lots of people get elected–but sooner or later, someone has to pay the piper.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. well i do hope that you get better soon…it\’s no fun being sick…
    *~* :o) if you don\’t have a smile to give… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~* 

  2. Hey!  Haven\’t spoken to you in a long time!  Stand up comedian, eh?  Sounds like fun…if you ever come to Dallas, let me know I\’d love to show up.  As for the men suck blog, sometimes women suck too (I"m guilty of that often lol).  I was having a really bad day with issues involving my soon to be ex and it always makes me feel better to man bash! HA HA!  There are a few exceptions…few minor exceptions.  Maybe you\’re one of them! 🙂 
     
    I will try to stop by more often, if you will do the same! 


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

