Again, Dangerous Visions

September 24, 2007 at 11:52 PM | Posted in Personal | 1 Comment
  I wanted to change my blog:  the layout, the look, the overall *feel* of it.  I had a rough idea–very rough–of that which I desired.  However, implementing that vision seemed a formidable task.
  I found….
  I found what I was looking for, plus a little more.

  I have never been…wait.  Never say never.  Okay, I developed an appreciation for art perhaps a little later in life than you might think.  After all, I am an artist….of sorts.
  Actually, I’m not.  I’ve tried to be.  I’ve wanted, hoped, wished to be.  I have *yearned* to be….But thusly, ever it is not to be.  If anything, I’d like to be considered a "writer."  Or a writer/comedian.  Or a writer/comedian/gigolo.  I think that fits.  That’s going to be my new business card.
  I discovered The Impressionists a few years ago when they were touring the art museums.  Actually, it was just their works; turns out, most of these clowns have been dead for a while.  But I liked the artwork.  I *appreciated* it, just like you’re supposed to.
  An artist not represented, whose work I have also liked, is Salvidor Dali.  You know the name, you should be familiar with some of his stuff.  The melting clocks, the bizarre landscapes.  I’m not going to go into a whole big thing about his work.  Let’s just say that when I was perusing an online gallery of his work last night…..
  It spoke to me.  It really, really *worked* for me.  It–I don’t know.  I got it, I got him.  His bizarre, abstract bullshit.  His quirky mix of humanistic and spiritual.  Of natural and unnatural.  Of many a dichotomy thrown together in a seemingly half-hazard fashion on the surface; looking deeper, there is meaning, and substance, and heart.
  And one thing I noticed, which is why I feel like I "get" him, is I noticed some things in his work, specifically in the titles of his work.  His titles are as creative and inventive and quirky as the works themselves.  And. . .many times he will return to the same topic, the same title, and do it again.  A different take on the same topic.  A different view of a similar image, similar thought.
  I get that.
  I showed Detroit a few images, and she liked them.  She didn’t have the same desire to submerse herself in them as I did; this was a personal revelation.  But she did like the works, and helped me narrow my selection.

  The picture I actually wanted for the front of my blog is Quixote, the pencil drawing by Picasso.  But, a) it’s Picasso, not Dali; and 2) it’s fairly well known, and I wanted something more obscure that still gets the point across.  I’m not going to *explain* the title piece, called "The Ship."  It means something different to you than to me anyway.  The background, the new background?  It’s called, "Metamorphosis of Narcissus," circa 1937.  It’s a piece of work, I tell ya.  It speaks to me.  The background on the computer is now "Landscape of Port Lligat with Homely Angels and Fisherman," 1950.  Don’t freak out, Detroit.  And the background on my comedy blog is "Cabaret Scene," 1922.
  I’m not like this all the time, you know.  When I’m around people, I’m friendly and outgoing–a real people person.  It’s only when I’m alone and I have time to think that I get all deep and introspective.
  I guess you could say I’m a closet introvert.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like the pictures you picked. I am more of a fan of Dali than Picasso.
    I was older too, when I started to appreciate art. I had a boyfriend who loved art and dragged me to just about every
    Museum in NYC, for which I will be forever grateful.
    It can soothe the soul or fire the imagination.
     


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

