I Dream Of Jeanie

December 11, 2007 at 11:08 PM | Posted in Personal | 1 Comment
  So, I’ve been having a lot of dreams lately.  And this will make as much sense as one of them.  Because I feel there is a connection with my dreams and my creative cycle.
  And I’m not bragging about my creativity, I’m just saying I have some.  Most people do–they have something they do creatively.  I used to think. .  .
  I used to think I could do anything.  Anything within the realm of the mind or the arts, nothing was beyond me.  Pretty egotistical, if you ask me.  But I have had some flashes–just flashes, mind you–of real genius.  That would lead me to think I could do just about anything.  I know now that of course I can’t, but what I have discovered is a better connection to my creative flow.
  You know, I think I have my friend Karl to thank for this.  The Dude.  My muse?  Ugh, please.  No, but he is at least partially responsible for alot of this that has happened in the last few years.  He is the one who, as my sounding board, pushed me.  "You say you’re a writer?  You want to write?  Well, then write, if you’re so smart."  Kinda paraphrasing there.
  But he was the impetus for me to start this blog, really.  And because of that, I have been writing more.  More important than that–because of this blog, I met the actual true love of my life, Detroit.  So when my ex blamed him for changing me. . .she’s right.
  But the writing, that’s what this is about.  I think I’ve always wanted to be one.  I remember starting a book when I was 14 or 15.  Long hand, in a notebook.  I think I wrote about 50 pages before I realized it was going nowhere and I lost interest.  That was the beginning of a cycle.  I put it aside for a long time.  I did write some poetry during my angst-filled college years (the perfect time for that), but haven’t done much of that lately, thank God. 
  I wanted to write and draw a cartoon strip, inspired by Bill Waterson and Berke Breathed.  Of course, the quality of the art was. . .I think I’ve drawn about 30 strips–enough for a month’s worth of dailies, plus some Sundays.
  So I sat on that.  Meanwhile I have a big binder, a folder, with alot of creative ideas and plans and information in there, that I have never done anything with.  When I started writing the blog, I realized I could write.  I’m not making a statement about the quality–I remember some of my essays from high school and college–I’m just saying I can put one word after the other.  It’s not so easy; many people can’t.  Have you read a letter to the editor?
  It then caused me to gather all of my ideas for stories together in one place–separating them from the other ideas (ideas for video games, board games, inventions, animation, drawings, and miscellaneous assorted crap).  So now I have all of my writing ideas in one place–actually copied in a few places–so that I can work on them.  Will I ever return to them?  I wish to God I would, I wish I could.  Whatever they use to control ADD, I need in an IV.  Instead of finishing a writing project, I start another one.  This year I have started. …let’s number them:
  1.  A story about Jim Morrison.  As in, what would happen if he came back to life.
  2.  A novel, using me and Detroit’s emails and so forth, about how we met.
  3.  A fairy tale, following those same lines (that was recent)
  4.  And just today, a story about my little town I used to live in.  Except one of the old neighborhood guys is an alien.
  That last one is supposed to be a short story.  I wonder if it will be short enough for me to finish it.  I’ve also written and finished some short stories this year, about four, I think.  None are over 4 or 5 pages.  I have a thing for short fiction.  It fits my mindset.  A lot of my stories come to me as ideas in dreams.  Mostly they don’t entirely make sense-that is the nature of dreams–but I can take the gist of them, and edit sense into them.  But in my archive of ideas I have enough already that if I wrote one full-length novel a year, it would take me the rest of my life if I live a very long time.  And I intend to.

  I really, really need to get cracking.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. git er done!!
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

