Strangers In the Night

January 5, 2008 at 12:07 AM | Posted in Fiction | 1 Comment
  In the dark shadows, a spurious figure approached.  I held my
collars up against the wind and the rain.  The figure paused around the
corner from me, out of sight and also smartly out of the wind.  But I was
new to this cloak and dagger stuff.  I wasn’t even sure–was this a real decoder spy ring?
  I heard a thick Slavic accent say, "The rain in Spain falls mainly
on the plain."
  I answered, "We had joy, we had fun, we had seasons in the
sun."
  The mysterious figure replied, "Tear down this wall, Mr.
Gorbachev.  Tear down this wall."
  And thusly I answered, "Have you no sense of decency, Mr.
McCarthy?  At long last–have you no sense of decency,
sir?"
  The code was complete.  The figure handed me an envelope, and
a key with a number on it.  The key was to a locker; the envelope was my contract.  What I
did next would be determined by what I found in the locker.  When I looked
up, the mysterious figure was gone. 
  It shouldn’t be this difficult to join
a gym.
 
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oh i like this one…very much…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

