Once More, With Feeling

January 11, 2008 at 4:13 PM | Posted in Riding In Cars With Pizza | 1 Comment
  I swear to God.  I can’t fucking believe it.  Here I am again.  Again.  I stand before the gates of Hell–AKA Domino’s Pizza–and once more I deign to darken the threshold with my shadow. . .
  I’m delivering again.

  Let’s recap, shall we?  The first time was a brisk, cool October day in 1986. Up through.. . .88?  89?  Started as a driver and became an assistant manager, but never promoted beyond a level 1 1/2.  I actually quit because they moved me back to a store where the manager was an asshole and had it on for me.  In the archives it’s in detail somewhere.  That’s once
  In 89 I quit.  In 90, I went back, this time to a different franchise.  I started as a driver again.  Eventually became an assistant manager, and then, in 91 or 92, became a manager.  My first store.  Yay?  Previously owned, ironically, by the franchisee who would never promote me.  Of course, later I was moved, and then demoted to assistant again.  In 94 I became a manager again, vindication for my previous demotion.  In 95 I was their golden boy.  In 96, I got moved again.  So I quit at that time, and went to Steak and Shake.  That’s twice.
  Six to eight months later, I "came back."  I actually continued my employment at Domino’s, as a part-time driver, once or twice a week.  But my manager was promoted to supervisor, and she was a friend, and asked me to manage a store for her.  So I went instantly from driver to manager.  For that summer, I managed one of the shittiest stores around.  By the fall–November–they demoted me AGAIN.  I would have been happy with that demotion, but they lied about what they were going to pay me.  So I quit for real that time, and went to Papa Johns.  I went straight to Papa’s because Domino’s was concerned about the lemming migration to Papa’s, and made a rule ("Okay, new rule:  If you leave Domino’s and go to Papa John’s, you can NEVER come back to Domino’s ever again.  Ever."  "Really?  Promise?)  By the way, I was vindicated over that demotion as well; that store closed it’s doors for good less than a year after I left.  That’s three times.
  I worked at Papa’s long enough to see that it was the same shit, different uniform; that was about six months.  In the meantime, I started working at my friend’s restaurant part time.  This was….98.  Wow, ten years ago.  I left Papa’s and went to Scooter’s full time.
  Later, in 99 or 00, I started back at Domino’s this time only as a driver part time, and Scooter’s full time.  I stayed there while going to school, until we moved in 04.  It was too far to drive for the shitty money I was making, so in 04, I left Domino’s again.  That was the fourth time.
  I went to Papa’s again because there was one closer, just to drive.  That lasted about two months.  The money was even crappier there.  Eight drivers, and by seven, they are down to two.  Never got a chance to make any money.  About the time I quit that, I went to the bank, and then Scooter’s was my part time job.  It’s been that way since 05.
  But I am short on money.  I’m telling myself this is temporary.  Divorce, house payments, child support–I’m getting behind and it’s scary.  Detroit works….but it doesn’t pay much.  Maybe a part time job is in order for her as well.  But I needed an immediate solution.  I called a guy I know who is a supervisor for yet another franchise.  We had actually worked together at the first Domino’s I worked at, twenty years ago.  I told him I could work one or two nights, and he hooked me up.  I mean, he hooked me up.  I called the manager to go in and meet her.  I thought I was getting an interview.  I didn’t.  I got the paperwork to fill out because I already had the job.  It’s nice to know people.  Networking, and all that.
  It’s bittersweet, in a chalky kind of way.  I’m happy, and yet I have a bad taste in my mouth.  I have another job.  Like Herpes, Domino’s just won’t leave my system.  Why, why-oh-why.  Why am I doing this again?

  This is five.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. well at least you are trying to made ends meet…which i give you credit for…good for you!!…serious doing what you have to do to make it through…is a lot more than some people do…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

