Did I–?

February 23, 2008 at 3:00 AM | Posted in Riding In Cars With Pizza | Leave a comment
Did I fuck up?  I don’t know.

  The weather here is shitty.  I left the bank early, and still I sit in traffic for over an hour before I get home.  It’s going to take over an hour to get to the restaurant.  I know what it’s going to be like:  slow, and also, the roads will be shitty and I’ll need to close early.  So, I drive over an hour, work for an hour and a half, and drive home for an hour.  To me, it wasn’t worth it.
  Perhaps Sean could stay and just close early–
  I called the store.  Sean wasn’t working, it was Alex.  Fuck.  Alex is a spastic retard.  I should call Scott, but I didn’t want to deal with him.  He wouldn’t see MY logic; he was thinking old school, where at Domino’s we opened no matter what.
  Ah, the good old days.  I was brave enough to drive through anything.  Or stupid enough.  It’s a fine line–
  Never thought of closing, we just hoped it would be bad enough to temporarily pull the stakes up on the 30 minute guarantee, which would give us a free-for-all.
  It’s not like I was even driving that night–although I did get a call from Domino’s, wanting to know if I could come in.  I told them I actually had to work my OTHER other job.
  But I didn’t want to work any of them.  I’ve been depressed lately.  I don’t know why and I’m pretty sure I don’t need a reason, so fuck off.  I just wanted to go home and get in bed and…stay there. 
  I knew at Scooters we would be closing early.  Why?  Because we could.  Because it would get dark and cold and the roads that had not been cleared off–(at this point, all of them)–would refreeze and make driving pretty hazardous.  This is not the carefree 70s.  This is the new millenium, a time of lawsuits and recriminations.  I also knew that the status of Scooters Worker’s compensation insurance tended to stray onto shaky ground.  I would be doing him a favor closing early.
  Plus, years of Domino’s giving bad service in that area when the weather was bad has trained everyone not to order delivery.  From anyone.  We were not going to be busy, we were not going to pass up much business.
  I have a lot of reasons/excuses, but the truth is I just didn’t feel like it.
  Alex said he would call Sean and they would deal with it.  I figured I was home free, but there was that nagging feeling in the back of my head….
  So when I got the three calls in a row about 6pm, I knew I had to go in.  The first one I didn’t recognize the number, but after the other two calls, I figured it was Scott, calling from a fish-fry he was working.  Alex called from his cell, hung up, called again.  Fuck it.  I’m going in.
  Six pm, the roads–the interstate, I mean, is clear.  At four it was hellish.  The other roads are still crap, but I tore through them with a determined pissiness.
  I get there, and they are very much not busy.  Alex wants to leave right away.  Megan does also, leaving me and The Dude.  I got there at 645, and before 8, we are closed.  The side streets–even the main streets–are crappy to navigate, we have hills, and it’s just not worth it.  We clean up, we leave.  I’m home by ten pm.  What a wasted fucking night.
  I’m sure Scott was pissed at me for not coming in–although I did make it.  Waiting an hour and a half saved me 45 minutes on the road, actually.  I’m a little disgusted with his, "Oh, he’s coming in, alright" attitude.  Like we’re the post office.  Through wind and rain and bullshit–
  But it’s not like that anymore.  Liability is a real issue….and in fact, I don’t have insurance on the car in the strictest sense of the word.  What happens when something happens?
  I really am getting too old for this shit.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

