Watch Out For The Man

April 8, 2008 at 9:26 PM | Posted in Journal | 1 Comment
  A friend of mine from the past came calling recently.  I didn’t realize how long it had been since I had seen him last, until I discovered that The Dude had never met him–and The Dude had been here at Scooters for a good four years or more (He says six, but he could be high–).
  Todd used to work at Scooters.  He called a few nights ago and we talked for a bit, and he said he would stop by.
  Todd is an odd duck, and he would admit to this.  He is his own person.  I would describe him as a hippie throwback, heavily influenced by jazz, pot, and the 60s.  Unfailingly nice, courteous, friendly–he really does want to buy the world a Coke, and keep it company.  He has a bachelor’s degree in English, which explains why he’s been delivering food for the past 15 years.
  I recall many times working with him.  When he was done, he would take off his shoes, walk around the store barefooted.  He’d make something to eat, and hang around and eat and read, or just bullshit.  While waiting for his food, he would do some funky Hippy tai chi that he made up on the spot.
  A big fan of comic books, he would bring his old ones in to me after he read them.  He wasn’t much of a collector, but he did have a lot.  He passed boxes and boxes off to me, and in turn I passed them off to others.  In fact, the other night he just brought me a small bundle of them.
  Several years ago, he and I and Larry went to a concert together, to see Little Feat.  It was a great show.  Todd got out of hand.  He had a lot of beers and smoked some pot before the show–we came together in his car.  I drove us home.  I dropped Larry off, and Todd slept it off on my couch.  In the morning, he was gone.
  Todd has been through some things….
  And he doesn’t talk about it much.  Shortly after that concert, in fact, was when his mom passed away.  He lives at home (like my sister does, and I’m not going to draw any correlation) and now takes care of his aging dad, a retired doctor.  Instead of talking about his own life and issues, he has a way of drawing them out of you, making you talk about yourself and your problems.
  Either that, or I just monopolized the whole conversation–
  No, seriously.  Whenever I would ask about something in his life, he would respond with an appropriate yet extremely vague answer and then turn it back to me.  Like a natural counselor.  I often thought I could be like that, except for the narcissism and the fact that I don’t like people and don’t give a shit about their lives.
  Anyway…
  Whenever Todd would leave for the night, his closing statement would be like him, a throwback:  "Watch out for The Man."  Finally, I had an answer for this, for him.  I started saying, "I *AM* The Man." 
  Last night after we talked, and promised to get together sometime, he left.  He said, "Catch you later."
  I said, "Watch out for The Man."
  He laughed out loud and answered, "I *AM* The Man."
  Yes, you are, Todd.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. sounds like a very interesting man…i like people like him…
    ♥~♥ :oD most smiles are started by another smile… :oD ♥~♥


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

