Everything Ends, Sooner Or Later

February 4, 2009 at 1:17 AM | Posted in Riding In Cars With Pizza | Leave a comment
  I just chuckled when she told me.  Dina likes to be non-confrontational, I know.  But I pushed the envelope, forced the issue.  Plus, Tom the supervisor found out, so it all came from him.  Whatever. 
  And I mean that sincerely.  What-ev-er.  They truly-madly-deeply don’t own me.  Not at that price.  I was sick Saturday night, and I closed the store early.  Now, I can see both sides of this; I’m not stupid.  First my side:  I did what I did, what I had to do.  I was pretty sick.  I barely made it home.
  Their side:  they have policies, and they must be adhered to, and if they aren’t, there must be consequences.  I could make a case for special circumstances, but it has been my experience that in the corporate environment they like to make all-encompassing rules to avoid any decision making.  "This is the rule, therefore, this is what we do."
  Someone in another supervisor’s area was just fired actually–I didn’t know this–for closing the store early.  The fact that I did means there has to be consequences.  I know it hurt Dina to tell me.  She is sensitive, which in many ways makes her not a good manager.  Sometimes you have to not care to get the job done.
  So I would be written up for this, and then when the boss above the supervisor (whatever his title is; he’s the owner’s brother) saw it, my punishment would be–
  –a fifty cent per hour deduction in my pay.
  That’s when I laughed.  Then I said to her, "You’re going to have to find someone to replace me, really soon."
  I had my way out.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

