Founding Fathers

March 27, 2009 at 11:04 PM | Posted in Political | Leave a comment
  Oh, yeah, a few weeks ago the Election Board called, wanting to know if I wanted to work the next election.  April 7th, the first Tuesday in April.  Obviously, it’s not going to be a big election.  I didn’t even know there was going to be one; chances are most people don’t.  But my handler must have liked the sound of my voice, or else she just heard reports from my last engagement, because she asked me, "Would you be interested in being a supervisor for this?"
  "Uh…I’ve only worked one election before–"
  She explained that this was no problem.  While the last election (The big presidential one, ‘member?) had a turnout around here of 80%, for this one we expect 10 to 15%.  That means instead of over a thousand people, we’re expecting about 120.  "Plus we’ll send you to a training class."
  I’m in.  I want to do my civic duty, Honda.  And I want to learn a bit more about the election process.
  I went to the class, actually, about two weeks ago.  There were about six of us in there. I learned quite a bit, and we had a re-enactment so I could showcase my acting skills.  Afterwards, they gave us all a DVD as well, with all the training info on it.  I get paid more for the supervisor class (50 bones instead of 30), but I don’t know if that means I get more for the election or not.  But I’m not in it for the money, I’m in it for the babes, just like the Founding Fathers were.
  I need to watch the DVD to freshen up on my skilz before then, and make sure I bring a cooler and snacks and food and drinks.  And a book.  It’s going to be a slow day.  I’ll tell you all about it later.  You know, when it happens.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

