Prayer And Apostasy

April 12, 2009 at 3:13 PM | Posted in Personal | 1 Comment
  I’ve been overwhelmed lately, and it has been weighing on me.  With so much to do, how do I do anything?  How can I choose from all of my priorities?  Tis a difficult task, to pick and choose.  Usually, I do nothing, and that is not a good thing.  Choosing nothing makes me a nihilist.
  But I’m not a nihilist, and I do believe in something, and lately I’ve felt the tug at my heart of it’s still, quiet call.
  I need to pray.
  I’m a bit rusty, because it’s been awhile.  I got to thinking, it’s much like my friend Winston, who is actually my dad’s friend.  I haven’t spoken to him since my dad died.  It’s been two years.  I should give him a call, I should–
  The same with prayer.  It kind of slips past you, and you realize it’s been awhile.  I’m sure I can do it, I just need the time and place and proper motivation.
  And motivation I now have.  Man, when things are going bad–that is the place I turn.  It’s not easy; it has taken me a while to get here.  But when I’m in trouble, when I have problems, when it seems like I’m being dog-piled on, prayer helps.

  You can call it what you want.  You might think of it as just some quiet time of reflection, or meditation.  That’s helpful.  Maybe you want to consider it a way to access hidden power deep within my own brain, and thence come up with a solution. 
  I like to think of it as a gift from God.  I can talk to him, and he actually listens.  I offer up some problems, open my soul for examination, and talk things over with him.  Sometimes he gives me a solution.  Sometimes he tells me to think about it some more.  Sometimes I get a little miracle, a little something for my effort.  Nothing big, just a turn when things go my way for a minute.  And always, I get the peace and calm in my heart.

  And you know, that’s all it takes to make me believe.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I believe too :o)Cali


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

