Mudda’s Day

May 12, 2009 at 1:24 AM | Posted in Journal | Leave a comment
  Saturday was Detroit’s B-Day, and Sunday was her M-day, I guess.  That would make Friday the BM-day Eve.
  Friday night and we still had no plans nailed down to celebrate her specialness.  There were no suitable chick flix in the theater, and she didn’t want to see the Star Trek movie.  There was a good comic at the comedy club, but she didn’t want to see that, either.  Why is it *always* about her?  Whatever.
  So Friday we went out to eat at a hybrid combo Long John Silvers and A&W.  Because fish dipped in a root beer float is the best.
  Then we went to Best Buy to peruse.  We actually had a mission, but you can’t go in without looking around.  To me it’s like women in a shoe store:  I want to try on all the computer stuff, all the stereo accessories, and all the LCD TVs.  Detroit got fitted for some major appliances, and tried on some DVDs that she ended up buying.
  Our mission was to get a remote that would work ALL the functions on the TV.  The original remote was long gone, and we couldn’t access any of the video functions to watch a DVD.  We had to have someone explain all the universal remotes, because they ranged in price from 9.99 to financing available.  I wonder if they would have taken a trade in?
  That was our big night out.  Later at home, I got the remote to work for both the TV and the DVD player.  Not easy, let me tell you.  First I had to have batteries that worked.  Then I had to read the really small print and program them.  Turns out it was the first code listed for each device, which is just nifty.
  Saturday morning, I was gonna go get Detroit a Birthday present.  Completely separately, her mom wanted me to take her out to buy something for Detroit.  So me and Bonnie had a day out.  We went to my bank first, and then went to K-Mart.  I got Detroit a B-day present.  Bonnie got her a birthday present, a mother’s day present, and a mother’s day present to be from her sons.  She made out like a bandit.
  Then we went to Lowe’s, and I got a mother’s day present.  Bonnie bought me a grill.  Oh, yeah.  A big ass, whopping, gas grill.  It was pretty awesome.  Even better, it came in box, ready to assemble.
  There is the tired old cliche of men having problems putting stuff together, following directions, and crap like.  Let me tell you, that is an attempt at emasculation and it just pisses me off.  I enjoy putting things together like that, and I have no problem following directions, unless they are stupid.  To me, a project like that is a like a 500 piece jigsaw puzzle for men.  It is fun.
  Saturday night I worked, Sunday I got up early (for me) and ran some errands.  I stopped by Flowerama (sounds like a made-up name, doesn’t it?) and got flowers for Detroit and for her mom.  I stopped by a dollar store and picked up a couple of things, then went to the grocery store.  Detroit paid for the excursion at the grocery store.  If she didn’t want me to spend whatever I wanted, she should have come with me.  Her fault.  Then another dollar store stop, and then home. 
  I wanted to go to Blockbuster, right around the corner, because they had previewed movies 4 for 20 bucks.  But I knew if I went over there, I would buy something.  Besides, I had to go to the bathroom really bad.  I went home.
  Detroit and Bonnie were gone, and the house was quiet.  I deposited the flowers on the ladies’ beds, then cleaned out the fridge and put the groceries away.  I was going to get ready to cook.
  They came back, after retrieving Detroit’s sister.  Oh, yeah–I forgot about that.  I cooked, it was good. and we ate.  God, I am not a drinker.  I had three beers…or maybe two and half.  I fell asleep on the couch.  All in all, it was a pretty good day.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

