8 Days A Week

July 10, 2009 at 6:42 PM | Posted in Journal | Leave a comment
  I don’t know if I wrote about this already.  I feel like I have, but maybe I was just wanting to.  Like Deja vu in prose.
  Lately, I feel more like my dad.  My weekend routine has me feeling his spirit, even if I do it in my own way.  The last few weeks I’ve gone to bed early on a Friday night.  I’ve just been tired.  Just tired–I’ve gone to bed between 930 and 1030.  Believe me, that’s early for me.  The equivalent for most people of going to bed before 8pm.
  But I didn’t waste it.  I figured what the hell, if I’m going to go to bed that early, I’m going to get up early.  So I’ve been getting up on Saturday morning before 6am. 
  Everyone is still asleep, and I drag myself out of the room quietly.  Some quiet time for ME.  I get dressed and hop in the car and go to quiktrip and get some coffee, and maybe a breakfast sammich.  The roads are quiet, the traffic is light.  All the rest of us early morning people relishing this time, sharing this secret, and hoping no one else finds out.
  Because, by 9am or so, everyone is out on the road.  Every asshole and her husband is out there with all their kids, running errands.  Sitting in traffic, clogging things up, slowing me down from getting where I want to go.  It’s like that from mid-morning until mid afternoon, where it doesn’t lighten up, it just becomes steady.
  I like to get into the hardware store at seven o’clock in the morning.  Hardly anyone else is there, and the older people working can give you time and help and answers before the hordes of yuppie fools come rushing in. 
  The last few weeks, I’ve gotten up early, got my coffee, worked in the yard, then worked in the garage, and then been done by 10am.  Then I take a break, and then I work on other things in the house.  By 2pm, my day is done, and it’s time to take a nap.  I lay down for 2 hours or so, and by the time I get up and get ready to go to Domino’s, it’s like a whole new day for me.  I actually get two days out of Satyrday.
  Are you sure I didn’t write this before?
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

