That Guy

July 10, 2009 at 6:40 PM | Posted in Journal | Leave a comment
  I never thought of myself as that guy.  Sometimes I act like that guy, but my persona, my "self", is not that guy.  Imagine my surprise when some young chicka called me that guy.
  I was at the video store with the young guns, and I convinced the girl at the counter to not only give me the price from the sale they had last week, but also to throw in some empty DVD cases for me.  She had to take the covers out of them and so forth, so it was some effort on her part.
  She said, "Okay, I have three for ya."
  In the parlance of our times, I answered, "Groovy."
  "’Groovy?’"
  "As in, ‘containing grooves.’"
  "Oh, no.  You just because that guy."
  Oh, I did, did I?  I considered that.  If I am going to be that guy, I’m going to be the best (or worst) that guy possible.
  I said, "Hon, I’m the guy that puts that other guy to shame."  She nodded in both awe and agreement.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

