So’s yer Facebook

September 28, 2009 at 5:05 PM | Posted in Journal | Leave a comment
  Well, out of curiousity and boredom last night, I joined Facebook.  I feel like I came home to find someone had invited 150 people over to raid my refrigerator.
  I swear I don’t get the point, or the purpose.  I’ve had a myspace–actually two–that I haven’t touched in a year or more.  I started a twitter, too, God knows why.  All of these are to get in touch or stay in touch with people.  Coworkers, friends, family, former friends, former family, former schoolmates, ex lovers, acquaintances, customers, people on your street that you typically try to avoid–
  For Christ’s sake, *why*?  I don’t need and don’t want to be in touch with this many people.  Status update?  Fuck off.  That’s my status.  I have this…msn space, whatever the hell it’s called.  I use this as my journal, to publish essays about my fascinating and incredible life.  I have (or had) a few friends on here, but most of them are gone.  I don’t have the desire or energy to look for new friends.  Unless you’re going to show me your tits, I really don’t want to talk to you.

  I think I just had a great idea for a new social networking site.  No, not fuckbook, that’s been done.  No, not titbook, either.  I think I’ll call it…jadespace.  You set up a profile and get a space, and send out requests to others.  And then never go back to it again.  Instead, you go out in the world and live your life.
  It might catch on.

  I remember the problems I had when I first started on myspace.  That was more technical in nature:  the site was set up so that retards could figure it out.  Since I’m not a retard, it was counter-intuitive.  I don’t have that problem with the Face; my problem is I don’t care enough to try.

  So go ahead friend me on facebook.  Try.  Just try it.  See what happens.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

