Visceral

September 3, 2011 at 10:49 AM | Posted in Fiction | 5 Comments
Tags:

This is another in the series of flash fiction from Chuck Wendig’s site “Terrible Minds.” The theme this week was to write something about revenge. But only 100 words. This, too, is a true story. I can’t believe how hard I am hitting the keyboard right now. I want to scream. To find out the details and read more entries, go to his website:
Flash Fiction Challenge: 100 Words On The Subject of Revenge

I was lying in the gravel in a fetal position.   John kicked me after he beat me down.  “Fucking pussy.”  Disgust in his voice.
Appeasement didn’t work.  “I—I think you’re cool, man.” He punched me.
“Fag.”
John had been gunning for me all summer.  Taunting, ridiculing.  Terrorizing our small, peaceful town.  Now I was scared to go outside.
He stole my friend’s girlfriend and bullied everyone.   We hated him.  Instinctively, he found the weak one to take it out on.
Crying, bleeding and bruised, I was alone now.  My friends left, embarrassed and scared.
I want to kill him.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nothing wrong with honest feelings.

    I’ve disliked lots of folks, but only hated two people. One was a man and the other a woman. They were pure evil; no redeeming qualities I could see. Both were stupid, luckily, but they still caused damage.

  2. I know how you felt. The bullies usually don’t do well… one thing or another eventually swallows them up.

  3. Great story, sorry you had to live it.

  4. Good story. I hope you’re able to use your writing as a catharsis for what you lived through.

  5. Powerful stuff. Makes me want to find out how John gets his comeuppance.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

