The Early Train

September 18, 2011 at 9:10 AM | Posted in Fiction | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

This is another in the series of flash fiction from Chuck Wendig’s site “Terrible Minds.” The theme this week was to write 100 words, and use three of these five: ivy, bishop, enzyme, lollipop, and blister. I accidentally used all five, but they are strung together with the other 95. To find out the details and read more entries, go to his website:
Flash Fiction Challenge: The Numbers Game

Ivy sat at the Metro station in quiet contemplation about the night before.  The rain punctuated her melancholy, and her wet clothes irritated the blisters in her loins.  It must an allergic reaction, she thought.  Enzymes, or something.  She hoped that’s all it was.
Sucking on the lollipop Bishop had given her as a consolation price, she contemplated her choices in life.
Next time, she thought, I’m not going to fuck a guy I meet on Craigslist when all I wanted was some fill dirt.
And next time, she thought adamantly, I’m winning a prize from the top shelf.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think that’s hilarious: fck for fill dirt. But the word loins sounds to me more like a referral to male body parts.

  2. I’m going crazy. I want to link the Far Side (Gary Larson) cartoon which advertizes Fred’s Fill Dirt (and croissants); it was when croissants were first popular. I laughed myself silly, but then I always *got* Larson.

    I dated an antique buyer who ran into women willing to F**k him if he would include their choices along with the rest of his shipment; it’s not uncommon. I don’t think he did it… We broke up.

  3. wicked good but holy crow – CRAIGSLIST??? Buwahaha

  4. ewww!

  5. she was allergic to Craig’s….list???? yeah, I crack me up.
    interesting.

  6. Hahahahaha. Very funny. Love the ‘win a prize from the top shelf’ line.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

