One Fine Evening at the Liquor Store

September 24, 2011 at 11:09 AM | Posted in Fiction | 1 Comment
Tags:

This is another in the series of flash fiction from Chuck Wendig’s site “Terrible Minds.” The theme this week was to write a story in just three sentences.
I posted it directly on his site as per the challenge rules, but I also have to put it here. There is more to this story, which I will be writing about soon. To see more three-sentence stories, catch a wave and surf over here:
Chuck Wendig’s Flash Fiction Challenge: Another Three Sentences

Oh, yeah–it’s a true story. My life is really like this. It happened last night:

As Susan peered deeply into me, making me open up and talk about things that I would never discuss with a stranger, I was not aware at the time that her broken English was only slightly better than that of her husband’s unintelligible mangling of the language with his thick Vietnamese accent.
Earlier, I had been witness to an odd ritual as she cleansed the store of bad spirits and blessed it for luck with prayer, incense, and candles that were part of some Buddhist ceremony that seemed completely alien to me.
After everything else that happened in this strange night at the small liquor store—the broken cooler, the credit card machine malfunction, the culture clash-fueled anger from customers that I diffused—it was the appropriate nightcap, but I didn’t realize it until I left for the night and walked to my car, muttering, “Fucking mystics.”

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like this! Neat images and atmosphere in so few words.
    Is the MC (you?) a policeman?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

