Frog Day Afternoon

November 20, 2011 at 2:20 PM | Posted in Fiction | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Chuck had another challenge.  I’m supposed to be doing something else, I’m sure of it.  But what the hell, it’s only a hundred words.  What can happen in a hundred words?  This week, he gave us five words, pick one and use it.  One of the words was “powder.”  I didn’t use that one.  I used “frog.”  To find out more, go check out his site.

 

I’m not going to kiss that frog.  I don’t care how many promises he makes.  Wishes he can grant.  Dreams he can fulfill.

His moist eyes beckon to me, with an amphibious come-hither.  A smile played upon his lips.  “Come on,” he croaked casually.  “What have you got to lose?”

“Besides my self-respect?  How about hygiene?”

The frog re-adjusted his footing on the log.  Frogs were fidgety creatures.  Have you noticed that?

“How many times have you met a magical talking frog?  This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.”

I sighed.  I kissed him.

The man walked away.  Now I’m the frog.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

